The Bad News

What makes good news good? Have you ever thought about that? Have you ever thought about why the Gospel is good news?

There is bad news associated with the Gospel: we messed up. We are a sinful, hopeless in ourselves, dying people. Most times, I think we downplay the bad news. We don’t treat sin with the seriousness that it deserves. We pray a prayer, “Jesus save me from my sin,” and then never really think about it again.

When is the last time, you sat down in prayer with God and confessed specific sin? Not a generic “Jesus, please forgive me,” but a distinct individual sin that you committed. Do you realize how often we sin? How often you sin? We have a tendency to think the best about ourselves. Well, I didn’t lie or cheat or steal or commit adultery or murder anyone today, so I’m good! But what about the deeper sins… What are your motives? Our very being is rooted in sin and therefore, the majority of our actions are as well. Even for believers…

It’s hard to think about ourselves that way. It’s hard for me to think about myself in that way… that I am inherently evil, especially when all my life I’ve prided myself on following the rules and being a good person. Romans 3:10-12 says “None is righteous, no, not one; no one understand; no one seeks for God. All have turned aside; together they have become worthless; no one does good, not even one.”

I heard someone say recently that when we are confessing our sin, we should take some time to sit in that darkness. Sit in our conviction; realize the severity of the sin we committed. When is the last time you really grieved over your own sin?

The bad news makes the good news that much better. “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” 1 John 1:9

This entry was posted in Sin. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

