Grief

I don’t feel numb like they say you’ll feel. I feel kind of spent and it’s just the beginning, I know. I’m devastated. Mostly, for my mom and my two step-brothers. Yesterday, we lost a very good man, my stepfather, Tom.

When I think about him, I have to smile. He always “knew” the answer to everything. One time, he was convinced it wasn’t going to rain for at least a week (he was a weather station junkie.). It started raining the same day he announced his prediction, but he just simply said, “That’s not rain, that’s just a sprinkling.”

I loved him a lot. He may not have been a blood relative, but he was a vital part of my family and he made my mother happy. She is lost without him. My heart breaks for her and for my step-brothers as they’ve lost so much more than I have.

I, also, will be telling Alyx today… Well, Frankie probably. I know, Taylor won’t understand, but Alyx… She’ll be six in a few weeks. She’ll know what it means. I dread that.

If you are praying for us, please pray for my mom and my step-brothers. They are the ones that are going to suffer the most through all this. And thank you for your thoughts and prayers during this difficult time.

 

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grief

  1. Jaimee says:

    I’m praying for all of you.

Leave a Reply

