Do I Have to Sell Myself?

So, I’ve been looking around at publishing websites, trying to figure out what my next step is. They said that writing the book is the easy part and I would have to agree!

Anyway, I signed up to get some free publishing guide material and I’ve had like three companies call me back… Granted they are in the sales department, so I’m sure they are wanting me to give them money before anything else, but still…

I realized that I have to be able to sell myself and my book with all this and I’m not sure how good I will be at that… Well, let’s be honest. I WON’T be good at that at all! First, I don’t like answering my phone unless I know you and even then, while I’m on the phone, there are a thousand and two things I’m thinking about that I would prefer to do than have a long phone conversation. Okay, I’m exaggerating a little. However, if you know me, than you do know that a phone call from me is a rare thing!

Second, I’m not a good speaker, talker, etc. I will do just fine in written format, but if I have to sell myself on the phone, I’m pretty sure I’ll be tongue-tied and not know what to say or just say something stupid altogether. I’m not quick on my feet in response to people and often find myself thinking, “Dang! I should have said that!” four hours after the conversation.

I’m protective of my story, too. I don’t really want to tell you what it’s about because I’m afraid you will think it’s a dumb idea. I want you to just read it and then I’ll brace myself for your review and I will end up apologizing for what I believe my faults are before we even get into what the book is really about.

I guess, I’ve always lacked confidence that I am good at anything and while I like to hear compliments, they tend to embarrass me more than anything else. I feel like I can do anything if you show me, but I excel at nothing in particular. I was like this in high school. Straight A’s, good in math, science, English, art (not P.E.), but nothing stood out so that I knew what I wanted to do for the rest of my life.

Anyway, enough of me whining. I have to figure out a way to suck it up if I want to do this. And if not, oh well…

Right now, I need someone to edit and review my book. I saw some ads on those marketplace websites where people post things they will do for you, but I’m a little leery of it all.

 

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do I Have to Sell Myself?

  1. Jaimee says:

    I am comfortable editing for things like spelling, grammar and making suggestions for sentence structure changes but not for content. If you are looking for someone who can edit for content you could check out Elance. I know they have a Writing and Editing category.

Leave a Reply

