You Need To Watch Your Child

Those are words you really never want to hear, but someone said that to me today at the grocery store. I successfully ignored the woman but it didn’t stop me from being a little upset about it.

Here’s the thing… My two-year old had a really good shopping trip. She stayed in the buggy with no screaming for almost the whole time. She wanted to get out as we were going to the cash register, so I let her (it is preferably to the other option, but I’ll explain that a little later). She ran along beside me but was fairly close to the buggy. As I was being checked out, she was running up and down the aisle. There was no one in front of me or behind me so she wasn’t bothering anyone. It was also in the middle of the day, so there were only a few people in the store to begin with.

So as she’s running up and down the aisle I’m in, she runs to the edge of the counter, but stops short, but it just happens that this woman is rolling by with her buggy at the exact time Taylor stops and she turns to me and says “You need to watch your child.”

Now, here’s the thing. Taylor really was being very good compared to how she is sometimes. She didn’t run out in front of the ladies’ buggy or anything. I know she’s not the best behaved child; she’s a strong-willed independent child. I’m not excusing her behavior, but I will choose my battles with her and this was not one of them for me.

So here’s what I want to ask that lady… would you rather see my child running around within 5 ft of me or would you rather her interrupt your shopping time by crying… And I’m not talking about a baby crying… I’m talking about a high-pitched shrieking, wailing at the top of her lungs, you would think I was killing her type crying…

I’m pretty sure that she would have been looking down her nose at me regardless.

I, also, would like to know when’s the last time she dealt with a Little Miss Independent Two Year Old, but I digress. I guess, I just need to watch my child…

 

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

