Staying Home

On August 10th, I left my full time job to stay at home. I was very anxious about it for several reasons. First, because we would be losing my paycheck and my benefits. Frankie started another job where he would be bringing home more money, but it was a big decision. Second, because I have a strong sense of responsibility. I don’t like leaving things undone and I don’t like giving control over. It was hard to just step away from something I had been invested in for over six years.

So everyone asks me: Do you like it? My answer: YES!

I have two daughters, one two and one five. My two year old goes to preschool across town from 9-12 while my oldest started kindergarten this year. She goes from 7:30-2. There would have been no way for us to do their schedules without one of us being at home. It’s a lot of running on the days they are both at school, but it’s manageable.

But the main reason I like it is because I feel like a weight was lifted. Trying to juggle a 40+ hour job, two kids, a husband, a house, and the other things that came up was more stressful then I ever realized. After a few weeks, it finally hit me as to how stressful it was to work outside of the house.

Also, I now have no excuse as to why I don’t exercise :)! I’ve been doing well and try to walk on the treadmill at least four times a week.

Do I want to go back to work? Not a full-time job. I would like to maybe do something part-time, but that’s kind of hard with Frankie’s schedule and the weird school schedules, so I’ll just have to find something from home if anything. It does leave plenty of time to write, so maybe I can be a professional writer!

 

PS. To a certain reader… look two days in a row!!

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

