Creative Outlet

So, I’ve been kind of depressed about certain situations never seeming to work out to what I feel is my benefit… (I know, please don’t remind me that God has me where I am for a reason!) Anyway, I decided about two weeks ago that I was going to write a story. I’m a creative person and honestly, I create characters and stories in my head all the time to pass the time or to help me go to sleep, but I’ve never written anything down. That’s probably weird, right?

Anyway, I’ve spent the last few weeks writing in my spare time (and sometimes, in the time I should be sleeping…) and I’ve finally finished the ending. I still feel like I have some things to fill in and develop more, but the bulk of the story is written. It’s a gives me a great sense of accomplishment and being able to have a creative outlet has been like balm to my soul!!

Anyway, my story is really a novel… ha! I have written roughly 78,000 words, which according to the average word per page count in a novel would be 312 pages! Woo Hoo! Who would have thought it would only take a few weeks to write 78,000 words? I’ll probably never do anything with it… It’s somewhat frightening to think of someone reading something like that… What if it’s terrible?! It would be very personal to me… probably because I’m a task-oriented person, so once I’ve perfected my task, it should be… well, perfect! 

Anyway, I enjoy writing, so maybe it will get me back in the habit! I know of only one person who looks forward to my posts and reminds me I haven’t posted in a while :). Anyway, I guess my unspoken New Year’s resolution was to write a novel. 

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Creative Outlet

  1. Jaimee says:

    Melanie… I don’t even know. Allen can attest to this. When I read this last night, I yelled out loud, “What?… What??… What?!?” I think one of the things I love most about you is your surprising unpredictability… or what seems like surprising unpredictability to ME. It just strikes me as funny that you have like this “secret” with God. After I got over my shock last night, I just sat there and thought how God wasn’t surprised at all by your creativity. And this totally explains that little flicker in your eyes when we were talking about being made in the image of God’s creative power and expression. I can’t believe (but I can) you didn’t say anything! You know what I think? I think you ought to think about letting me read and just edit for sentence structure (not content) and then you should self-publish to Amazon for like $40 or whatever… and then you should offer it as a free e-book with a list price of $5.99 or something, for a limited time. I could advertise it on The Casserole and then after we get some reviews and stuff on there, just list it at regular price.

  2. Jonathan Everette says:

    I think you should send it to a publisher and get their input. Who knows. I’ve always wanted to say I know an author personally. 🙂 Seriously, though, you should look into a publisher.

Leave a Reply

