Memorize

So, one of my goals for this year is to memorize some Scripture verses… I’m taking two verses a month. It’s not a lot, but I just figured that way I can focus on them a little bit. So, for January, my verses are:

James 2:14-17

What good is it, my brothers, if a man claims to have faith but does not have deeds? Can such a faith save him? Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes or daily food? If one of you says to him “Go, I wish you well. Keep warm and well fed!” But does not do anything about his physical needs, what good is it? In the same way, faith by itself, if not accompanied by deeds, is dead.

Now, I was working on this one before January, but never put it completely to memory until this past month. I love these verses because it reminds me to put action behind my words. I can’t just say something, I have to do something.

My second verse is Phil 4:8.

Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable, if anything is excellent or praiseworthy, think of such things.

I’ve needed that verse this week a lot. God always seems to use whatever verses I’m focusing on at that time. Coincidence? Yeah, right… I’m a little nervous about the verse I’ve chosen for February! At church, the last few weeks we’ve been talking about how life is unfair, so I chose a few of the verses we talked about. If you want to look them up, it’s Job 1:21 and 2 Corinthians 12:9-10. DOn’t ask me about those yet… I have the month of February to memorize them!

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

