Got Excuses?

People use all kinds of things as excuses for why they don’t do something. Some of them are valid reasons. Some are just cop outs. It’s also amazing that Christ followers do the same thing. We look for a reason NOT to do what the Bible teaches. There is probably one major excuse that Christians give for not doing something. Do you know what it is? Are you ready? I’ll bet you’ve heard it or even used it yourself. Ready? “That’s not my spiritual gift.”

Now, you might be fighting me on this one, but here’s why I think that’s just an excuse. Jesus never said that you shouldn’t serve if you didn’t have that gift. Matthew 10:45 says “For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.” So, if Jesus served, shouldn’t we? Jesus never said that you shouldn’t share the good news with those around you if you didn’t have the gift of evangelism. Acts 1:8 says “But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you; and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.” We are his witnesses… not we may be his witnesses… we are.

I could go on… I’ve heard the same excuses over and over. I’ve even said them myself. I’m not a “people” person, but I have built relationships with people around me. God calls me to evangelize those around me… even if it’s out of my comfort zone.

I hate excuses. Sure, I have them… but I really hate having to give an excuse because ultimately, it means that for some reason (whether it be a valid reason or a cop out), I didn’t do what I was supposed to.

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

