Family of God

So, we’ve been talking about the Purpose Driven Life’s 5 purposes. This past Sunday we talked about the purpose of fellowship and how it’s about belonging to the family of God. Maybe I’m the only one, but now I can’t get this song out of my head.

The handshaking and all… lol.

I’ve also been thinking about families. Most families today are broken and I think the church family, unfortunately, is no different. But I think the problem is that we don’t know how to be a family anymore. Most families don’t talk to each other, they don’t eat together, they live individual lives, but just happen to live under one roof. Extended families are often hundreds of miles away. More than half of all marriages end in divorce (inside or outside the church). So, I think, that maybe before we can explore the purpose of belonging to the family of God, we have to take a step back and learn what it means to be a family.

Anyway, just a thought…..

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Family of God

  1. Jaimee says:

    That’s a really good point Melanie. I think we automatically default to our dysfunctional family way of doing things with our church family because we’re used to being that way in our real families lots of times. However, I do think that the fact that we recognize what’s wrong in our families shows that it’s not too late to start to make moves toward putting them back together. For instance, if we know we should be eating together… Well… then we need to do that! If we know that we should overlook the annoying things about each other and get together out side of a once a week service… Then we need to just make that first step. If we know we should be accountable to one another… Somebody has to start that! I think lots of times, we know what we need to do and we just plain don’t do it because it’s uncomfortable, inconvenient, I’ll make a fool out of myself or I’ll be rejected. We don’t know until we try! The one thing I know is that we are so so far from what a church family really is, that if we don’t make moves to save it now, what will our kids have? Kind of like eating dinner around the table as a family. A couple generations removed, and pretty soon nobody misses it, we just know there’s a hole that shouldn’t be there. I think that’s how church is. We know something is missing, something is off. We look other places for ways to fill those needs. We just have to figure out what to do to put those pieces back together again. I love reading your blog by the way. Thanks for sharing your thoughts : )

  2. chinchillas07 says:

    SO… no thoughts on the video?? LOL.

    Thanks for sharing, too! My blog is just my sounding board. I don’t really expect people to read it (and am surprised when they do and actually comment!!), but it’s just a way for me to get my thoughts down before they flee… and they flee quicker than they used to!

  3. Jaimee says:

    Unfortunately, whatever format you and Jonathan use to post pics and video on your blogs is blocked by either my computer or my filter! What is it?

    And you’re on my feeds list! And I jump at the chance to read something other than coupon-speak! : )

  4. Really nice and excellent video….

Leave a Reply

