Surrender

It’s funny how things work together… or fit together (at least in my mind. You might not see it at all!!).  I have this opportunity before me, one I really feel would be a great thing for me to do, something that would be rewarding just to be a part of. I just read a chapter out of the “Purpose Driven Life” book on surrendering. “The heart of worship is surrender.”

How does all that fit together? Well, let me tell you about another story from the Bible that God brought to mind. There was this king. His name was David. The Bible says he was a man after God’s own heart. David loved God. He wanted to build a home for God. He thought, how can I live in this palace while God lives in a tent. Back then, they had this box, called the ark of the covenant and God dwelt among the people in the ark of the covenant. But the ark of the covenant was housed in a tent and David wanted to honor God by building Him a permanent home, the temple. So what did God say? God told David that it was great that he was thinking this, but he would not be the one to build the temple. God told him his son would actually build the temple.

So, now you are really confused, huh? Well, what if this opportunity that I really would like to be a part of, what if it’s not for me… even though I really feel like I can honor God in this? What if this opportunity is for someone else? Do you know what David did when God told him he wouldn’t build the temple? David collected the tools and supplies that his son would need to build it. So, if this opportunity turns out that it’s not for me. It will be okay. Will I be disappointed? Yes. I definitely think David was disappointed that he wouldn’t be the one, but that didn’t stop him from doing what he could. And that’s what I’ll do. I’ll help in any way I can. I think that’s what surrendering is about. I won’t always get what I want. Sometimes, the things I want are meant for someone else. But I need to remember that God is in control and surrender to Him. “The heart of worship is surrender.” I want to worship my God.

I hope I didn’t confuse you too much!!

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

