Challenge Hunger

So I’ve got an idea I’m working on. About a month ago, we did a school drive at church. We sent out an email that had some of the best deals of the week and challenged our people to grab a few items and bring them on Sunday. After a few weeks, we collected a lot of stuff and were able to give it to a local children’s shelter. I’ve been thinking about that and about couponing (which by the way, I know a great lady who will do coupon classes for anyone!! Let me know and I can get you in touch with Jaimee). I talked with Jaimee tonight about my idea actually. She had some great ideas, too.

Anyway, here’s what I’m thinking: I’ll send out an email every week with the best deals for food that week. I’ll even try to attach the coupons to the email to make it super easy. Here’s where you come in. People work better in groups; people will do something if others are doing it. So, will you put together a group that will collect food items and give them to a local shelter. Maybe you can get a group together from your work. Maybe you can get a group together from your church. Maybe you can get a group together from your friends.

There are multiple possibilities… the thing is, it’s time to start doing something. If there is one thing I’ve learned lately, it’s that I have to stop making excuses and just start doing something. If you can buy a jar of spaghetti sauce for 34 cents and a box of spaghetti noodles for 24 cents, then what is your excuse? Certainly, I can skip going out to lunch for a day in order to buy a few things for someone who needs it. I want to give people an opportunity to make a difference and this is just one way. If I do the email, can you get some people together to make a difference? By myself, I can still do something, but if you help me, we can change Spartanburg, Greenville, and beyond.

What good is it, my brothers, if a man claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save him? Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to him, “Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed,” but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it? In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.” James 2:14-17

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Challenge Hunger

  1. Mandy Jordan says:

    Hey Melanie!
    I think that is a super idea! If you do put that together I would like to be added to your list so I can help provide more items for our food bank at church. I would forward it on to those in my corner of the upstate as well. Loved reading your blogs, didn’t realize you were also a fellow blogger, you’re great with words girl! Keep it up!
    Mandy (Planchon) Jordan 🙂

  2. Kaye says:

    I don’t know anyone at the moment that is close by me but I will work on it myself the best I can……..I’m going to start at Bible Study real soon so maybe my group would like to try. I’ll let you know. Excellant idea Melanie!

  3. Heidi says:

    Melanie, great idea! Great way to make an impact on Sptbg, showing the love of Jesus. Keep me posted!

Leave a Reply

