Relationships

So, I’ve been thinking about relationships lately and how my earthly relationships seem to be a reflection of my relationship with God. I believe God made us all different and those differences are definitely reflected in how we relate to other people. For instance, I’m not a talker. If you ask me a question, I’ll answer, but you may have to pry a little to get me to open up. I do this with God. I have short prayers for the most part and if I do try to spend a certain length of time in prayer, I find that I repeat myself. I don’t think God minds short prayers at all.

I think my main issue though is that I don’t work hard to build relationships. I’ve been out of work for 5 weeks now and have barely talked to my co-workers. It’s not because I don’t want to, I just hate picking up the phone… you can ask my mom about that 🙂 The same thing is happening with my relationship with God, especially since the last few months of my pregnancy and then her birth.

I’m working on making myself some goals for my relationships with people and with God… to connect with people more and to dive deeper into relationship with God. I will always need God, but I’m thinking I will need more support from friends in the months to come. I’ve actually gotten in touch with a friend I haven’t seen in many, many months and made plans for us to get together soon. I’m excited about that. And I have a list of other people I need to touch base with as well. Bear with me on this! As far as my relationship with God, I’m working on that, too, in a couple different ways. I think, it’s no coincidence that Jonathan is doing a series on prayer starting this week, called “Speak Freely.”

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Relationships

  1. Jaimee says:

    I love reading your blog Melanie. I’m glad you’ve stuck with it.

  2. chinchillas07 says:

    Thanks, Jaimee! It’s kind of a stress reliever for me and a way to collect my thoughts a little.

Leave a Reply

