Compassion

Today, Jonathan read a couple of verses from Genesis that really spoke to me.

6 When Joseph came to them the next morning, he saw that they were dejected.7 So he asked Pharaoh’s officials who were in custody with him in his master’s house, “Why are your faces so sad today?”

He brought out a point I had never noticed before. Joseph saw that the people were upset, but not only did he see it, but he spoke to them about it… asked them how they were, what was wrong.

A friend of mine recently told me some tragic news that happened in her life. And that she went through it practically alone, only one other person knew, who was also in pain over the same thing. When she told me, I was devastated for her. And I was extremely upset that she had been carrying such a heavy burden by herself. This morning though, I was equally upset at myself. I noticed a few times that she seemed upset and instead of asking her if she wanted to talk, I assumed it was just something else and didn’t do anything. It upsets me that perhaps if I had asked, she would have opened up and wouldn’t have felt so alone.

May God open my eyes to the people around me… that I would not only notice people, but that I would ask them about it. May God, more importantly, bless my friend, and help her through this hard time in her life. I am so sorry that I didn’t speak. I love you!

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

