What’s New with Alyx?

Well, Alyx is growing a little every day. She talks all the time… to people she knows, not so much if she doesn’t know you well. She calls churches (that have steeples) castles and is always wanting to see where another castle is. She called the movie theater “church” for the first time the other day (before it was known as Chris’ house since he’s always the first one she sees there)! She likes choo choo tracks and choo choo trains. She has moved away from Mickey Mouse Clubhouse and asks to watch Handy Manny now. Every time we see an apartment complex, she asks if we’re going to see Grandma (my mom) and every time we get in the car, she asks if we’re going to see Nana (Frankie’s mom). She loves to pretend she’s a puppy, complete with eating off the floor (which she did before), licking your face instead of giving you a kiss, and even an occasional bite here and there. She absolutely loves to go swimming even if it’s like 60 degrees! She can crawl over the baby gate now. **sigh** She has decided that she wants to sleep in our bed and even though we take her back downstairs, somehow she always ends up back upstairs in between us when I wake up in the morning. **sigh** She has absolutely no interest in potty training and likes her diapers. Any suggestions? She loves her daddy to pieces and Mommy is just okay if Daddy’s not there 🙂 She loves to play with her friends at church: Levi and “Lilas” (Silas) and beats them up as much as they do her. She’s stubborn as can be (don’t know who she gets that from…. maybe I should start saying, I don’t know who she doesn’t get that from since almost everyone from both sides seems to have that trait). She wants to do everything by herself now (except going potty). She knows how to get Daddy’s phone and get into the games she likes to play (as well as play them… like ski-ball). She’s getting so big…

IMG_2154IMG_2168

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What’s New with Alyx?

  1. Sara says:

    Man, do they grow so fast!!! It’s fun to see them learn so much but it’s hard to watch them let go of little things, too. Good luck with encouraging her to use the potty…I have learned that it takes a LOT of patience. Don’t worry too much about it. She’ll do it when she’s ready and I promise it will be before she starts kindergarten! I have a few tricks I can share that worked with my kids but even they were very different from each other so you have to find just what works for her. If you can figure out that one thing that really means something to her, it’ll be that much easier to reward her. I love the pics…she’s beautiful!

  2. Kaye Allen says:

    I love the mickey mouse hat on her! She looks so grown up. About the potty training , I forget after all these years how I did it with 4 girls. But I’m sure Sara can give you some pointers. 🙂 My littlest grand baby is sure a beauty!

  3. Brian says:

    I like the new layout of the blog. And I really like the update on Alyx. I keep making notes so that I know what to expect when Natalie gets that old. Keep up the good blogging!

Leave a Reply

