One Prayer: Francis Chan

So today was the first day Hub City Church is participating in the One Prayer series. The theme this year is “God is…” We watched Francis Chan speak on “God is strength” today. I’ve never heard Francis Chan before, but he was a  really good speaker.

He said one thing that really stuck out to me. I’ll paraphrase, because I don’t know his exact wording, but he said, “It seems like the longer I am in the church setting, the weaker I become.” That was so profound to me because I can see that. Why is it that when someone first becomes a Christian, he tells everyone he meets about Jesus, but the more he attends church, the more he is told that he is doing it wrong and as a result, he stops. We look at people in our church and think that they can tell people about Jesus better than we can, and so we don’t tell them. We maybe ask them to church, but then again, so and so is better at that, so I’ll just let them do that.

Chan talked about how we look at the stories in the Bible: David and Goliath; Daniel and the Lions’ Den; Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego…. we look at these stories and we think about how strong God is, but somehow we don’t translate that strength into our lives today.

So what about you? Are you a coward? Or do people define you as powerful? I must admit that I’m a bit of a coward. Look at this verse, Chan shared from Revelation 21:

7He who overcomes will inherit all this, and I will be his God and he will be my son. 8But the cowardly, the unbelieving, the vile, the murderers, the sexually immoral, those who practice magic arts, the idolaters and all liars—their place will be in the fiery lake of burning sulfur. This is the second death.”

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Prayer: Francis Chan

  1. Good stuff! But I can’t believe you posted that video of me. You should be ashamed.

Leave a Reply

