Go GREEN!

I work at Waste Management and our main slogan is “Think Green!” Over the past few years that I have worked there, I have become more aware of how much I throw away and how much I could be recycling. It has started to bother me when I go to a Christian conference that provides can drinks, but there is nowhere to recycle these cans. It seems like such an easy thing to do, especially when you are going to have so many! But for some reason, Christians especially, seem to view recycling as kind of a left wing activity. To me, this is a tragedy.

I was very excited to find this book: “Gardening Eden,” by Michael Abbate. The first half of the book closes the gap between being environmentally friendly and being a Christ follower. God made man stewards of the earth, to take care of it, to garden it, and instead, we have destroyed it and consumed it. The second half of the book gives some very practical ways that we can work to restore our world around us. It has some great resources. I was so glad to read a book in which the author had a similar mindset to my own about the world we live in.

go-green

I have a copy of this book to give away! So if you are interested in going GREEN! (and live close), leave a comment!

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Go GREEN!

  1. Jaimee says:

    Melanie, I would LOVE to read the book… You don’t have to give me a copy, but if I could just borrow it, that would be awesome!

  2. chinchillas07 says:

    Marvelous! I will try to remember to bring it to church tomorrow. I got an extra copy, so you can have it!

Leave a Reply

