Interesting… Very Interesting.

Okay, so I’m on day 2 of my Bible reading goal and am reading ***surprise again*** Genesis 4-7. Normally, the genealogies are really boring to me and I skim them, but I got to looking at the numbers in Gen 5. First interesting fact: Adam lived to see his great, great, great, great, great, great, great (I think that’s enough) grandchild, Lamech, who was Noah’s father. Think about that family reunion! He was shy of seeing Noah’s birth by a little over 100 years but he lived 930 years!

Second interesting fact: Methuselah, Noah’s grandfather and the oldest man in the Bible, died the year of the flood. He was 187 when his son, Lamech was born and was 369 when his grandson, Noah was born. The flood came when Noah was 600, so that puts Methuselah at 969 years old. The Bible doesn’t really say how he died, but you can’t help but think that’s its not a coincidence that the numbers match up… which probably means that when Noah got on the ark, he knew his grandfather was going to die with the rest of mankind. (Noah’s father, however, died 5 years before the flood.) I think it must have been really hard for Noah and his family to know that all their friends and family were going to die when the flood waters came. I guess I can relate to that in a way because I know certain friends and family members who are danger of spiritual death and know that the end is coming a lot sooner than they think.

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

