MMI: Childhood

“The color that describes my most common mood as a child, and why:”

Green! I was outside a lot, playing in the yard, making mud pies, rolling around in the grass…. I used to love playing outside on a warm, spring day. Green is also associated with growth. I did a lot of growing during my childhood, not just physically, but spiritually and emotionally.

“Three values I learned growing up:”

1. Forgiveness is crucial. I spent many years under the bondage of unforgiveness, so I would say that this was a very important lesson that I learned.

2. God uses bad circumstances to shape our lives. My parents’ divorce was the worst thing that happened in my childhood. It was terrible; I absolutely hated that my parents were split up and that we had to live with my mom, who was struggling to keep us clothed and fed. She did the best she could, but there were things we missed because of the circumstances. But I learned and grew so much from this time in my life that I wouldn’t change it. The divorce lead me to church and to Jesus. It lead me back to South Carolina and to Frankie. I wouldn’t change it for anything, but I wish I would have understood a little more.

3. I need to stand up for what I believe in. One of the hardest thing I’ve ever done was go against my father’s wishes as to college. He insisted I should go to a state college in Ohio, while I wanted to return to South Carolina and go to North Greenville College. I handled the situation all wrong. I just defied him and took off without his blessing. I wish I had handled it differently by calmly explaining (repeatedly) what I wanted and that it was my desire and not someone else influencing me. By not being more expressive about what I believed and what I really wanted in life, I allowed other people to make decisions for me until I had no other way out but to make people mad.

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

