MMI: Friends

There is a whole section on friendship in the book. It was interesting to try to answer the questions it had: “The best thing a friend has ever done for me, The worst thing I’ve ever done to a friend, The best advice I’ve ever received from a friend, The worst advice I’ve ever received from a friend…” and so forth. To be honest, I had a difficult time with this section. I feel I’m loyal to a fault, but I have a hard time making friends and developing those relationships. I’m an introvert, so it’s difficult to open up to people I barely know or don’t know at all and at the same time, sometimes, I feel I’m too honest with people I know well. I’m naive in many ways and I end up hurt because people act in a way I don’t expect them to… I guess I’ve been betrayed many times. I have probably betrayed friends in my past as well. We’re all human, right? Anyway, what I learned from this section is that I’m not a very good friend. I don’t talk with people on a regular basis; I don’t ask them how they are doing when they go through a difficult time; in general, I don’t care like I should, as Jesus does….

So, what about you? Are you a good friend? If you are, great! Maybe you can give me some advice! If you aren’t a good friend, what are you going to do to change that? I’m selfishly praying that God would grant me a more compassionate heart and help me to learn to be more concerned with the people around me. He has already blessed me with a great small group, in which I feel I can start being a better friend.

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MMI: Friends

  1. Sara says:

    This is something I also struggle with. I end up disappointed when I realize I don’t have a lot of close friends. But I also recognize that I am not always good at putting in the effort and time to develop relationships. Not that this is a good excuse but I think sometimes I get very caught up in what my own family is doing and I forget to talk to people around me. It’s not that I don’t care about them, I just get preoccupied. I have been praying that God would help me to find ways to let others know I care about them and that I would make more of a conscious effort to communicate that.

  2. chinchillas07 says:

    Thanks for your honesty… it helps knowing there are people struggling with the same issues! I think I get caught up in my own little world as well… it’s so easy to just not see that people are hurting…. When you ask, “How are you?” and someone automatically responds, “Fine”…. it’s easy to just move on, even though it’s obvious they are not fine. I guess I need to pray that God would allow me to SEE people.

Leave a Reply

