Sunday! Sunday! Sunday!

The gathering went really well today. Setup went a lot smoother than last week and stress levels were at a minimum. Maybe, with God’s help, we are finally getting a handle on things. We had Robin Hunt and Jimmy McFarlin lead the music part. We sang “Rain Down,” “Sweetly Broken,” and “How He Loves.” The technical part on the songs went a lot better. Being a detailed person, it gets on my nerves when the words don’t match what is being sung! But I was able to get past my own issues. Jonathan talked about how imperfect we all are and how we try to compare ourselves to others. We think “Well, at least I am better than that guy.” Luke 19 has a story about a Pharisee and a tax collector in which the Pharisee prays to God and says at least I’m not like that tax collector while the tax collector prays “O God, have mercy on me, a sinner.” Jesus told the people that the hated tax collector was the one who God had justified, not the religious Pharisee.

I try not to compare myself to others. I know a girl who acts “holier than thou” and all she does is drive people in the opposite direction from Jesus. It takes humility, honesty, and vulnerability (letting people really see who you are) to let Jesus shine through us. For where we are weak, He is strong.

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

