Changed

I was reading a book the other day and it got me to thinking about how I have changed over the last year. So, I thought I would explain how God is working in my life to shape me into a better person.

BEFORE

When I was around 10 years old, I started going to Northbrook Baptist Church with a friend of ours. I loved it. We participated with the youth group and I loved feeling like I was a part of something and that I belonged. I think it was in 1994 that we went to some conference and on the way back decided that we wanted to do something big for the community. We brought in a well-known evangelist who preached mostly against the culture and things of the culture, particularly music. At the end of the week, he had what he termed an Acts 19:19 party, in which he asked us to bring all our worldly Cd’s and possessions that were of the deviland burn them. Thinking back, this is a little weird especially to someone who isn’t a believer!

But anyways, from that point I have tried to live my life as purely as possible. I listened to only Christian radio. I read only Christian romance novels (it’s terrible, but I was reading those very detailed romance novels when I was only 13!). I tried to make sure my friends, the people who influenced me were like-minded Christians. I even stopped associating with one of my best friends because she was doing things that very sinful. At that time, I realized God had called me to be holy and I needed to be set apart for Him.

I’ll explain how this has changed tomorrow!

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

