Plastic Jesus

Ok, that’s the name of the book I just finished. I have been taking it kind of slow, trying to absorb the information because I find myself stuck in the rut of just pretending to live. I highly recommend this book. It really makes you think about where you are in your walk with Jesus.

Ths conclusion gave two suggestions that you should keep in mind to see whether you are living the abundant life that Jesus has brought us.

1. “Have a clear vision of what you really want out of your relationship with God.” What is your purpose? Where is God calling you to be and what is He calling you to do? If you have a clear vision of where you want to go, you won’t be disappointed with where you have been.

2. “Give yourself permission to not be perfect.” This is something I struggle with. I want to be perfect in everything, but that’s not realistic. I will fail. Will I be honest about my failures or will I hide them from everyone else? I love what Eric Sanders says going along with this: “Living in reality will release in you new freedom to fail, but fail in a forward direction.” When I fail, I need to learn from it and move forward instead of dwelling on it or reliving it.

“Plastic Jesus” really made me think about whether I am living in my own “spiritual suburbia” or whether I am living in reality. When I find myself in suburbia, I hope I will remember to crawl out of there and back into reality.

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

