We will never forget.

I don’t remember much of anything that happened seven years ago except on this day. I had to commute to North Greenville College to go to an Algebra class. I was late again that day just like any other morning I went to that class. It was an elective for me and it bored me to death. I remember getting out of class and getting in my car to go back home and to work at Wildlife Unlimited. I turned on the radio and they were talking about an airplane crash that just happened.

A plane had hit one of the World Trade Towers and they were trying to rescue the people in the building. They kept coming back to it. I remember praying as I drove to work for the families involved, for the firefighters and rescuers, for the people in that city. Then, not long after that, they came back on the radio and said the most shocking thing ever… a second plane had crashed into the second tower. We were under a terrorist attack.

When I got to work, we turned on a TV. We had to rig it up, so it would pick up one of the local channels. I remember standing in front of that TV just mesmerized by what I was seeing. I couldn’t believe it. It was like a bad dream… if only, I could wake up.

People used to tell me about how they could remember exactly what they were doing, where they were, and how they felt when JFK was assassinated. I found it a little hard to believe. I mean, doesn’t time erase some of that, the details…. Unfortunately, now I know… and I will never forget. Take a moment today and pray for those who lost loved ones on that day (including the terrorists).

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

