Surburbia

So I am still reading “Plastic Jesus” by Eric Sanders. I read a couple other books in between and now am working on finishing this one. I have been going back over what I read before and am now moving towards completion. Anyway, Sanders makes this statement:

“It is so easy for us to drift toward simply acting as if we are intimate with Christ, when the truth is that we are simply functioning out of a sense of duty, just as we might with a business partner.”

His point is that being in a real relationship with God is more than just doing what he says. What is our motive? Why are we doing it? Are we doing it because it’s the good and right thing to do? The book is about getting out of our “spiritual suburbia,” where we are just trying to keep up with the Joneses and appear good. We need to venture out into the real world. We need to realize that God wants to have a real and active relationship with us and through it, empower us to reach the world. We shouldn’t do this out of any sense of obligation, but because Jesus is our friend and we want to please him.

I feel like the past ten months since I have joined the vision for Hub City Church has been my journey out of this “spiritual suburbia,” where I knew things weren’t exactly right, but I couldn’t put my finger on the problem. It’s all about Jesus. But I was getting caught up in the politics and the distractions of church. Somewhere down the line, people have decided that the church needs to be run like a business in order to be successful… and to a point, I would agree. But when the church is overwhelmed with financial issues or more concerned with programs for members than reaching outside their walls, then the business paradigm has gone too far. I pray God would keep us focused on our purpose: to make disciples and all that it involves, so that we might not end up in a “spiritual suburbia.”

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

