I am Poor and Needy!

Psalm 70:5 says: “Yet I am poor and needy; come quickly to me, O God. You are my help and my deliverer; O Lord, do not delay.”

When I read this the other day, it struck a cord within me. I confess everyday to God about my worrying. I know it gets me no where, but somehow I feel a level of comfort by worrying. I have this twisted logic that if I worry about it, more than likely it won’t happen. Sooner or later, my faulty logic is going to backfire on me. But truthfully, I am poor and needy. Only God knows how much!

These verses also speak to my impatience. Lord, this is too hard… come quickly and fix it! God has asked Frankie and me to trust Him and step out on faith that He is going to provide for us financially and to give us guidance and direction on where to go from here. But, it is SO hard. I know He will never give me more than I can bear, but isn’t this too much? God, haven’t I reached my limit? Isn’t it time for you to jump in and rescue me?

When I read this, I could so identify with the psalmist. I need God’s help. I need Him to come to my rescue, to reach down and pick me up and put me back down where everything is okay. Unfortunately for me, God doesn’t normally do that… He normally picks you up and puts you smack dab in the middle of the trouble. Fortunately for me, He promises to always be with me and walk by my side.

God, I am poor and needy!!!! Come quick!

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

