thankful

It’s kind of funny… I started writing this post earlier today, but didn’t feel it was going right, so I stopped and planned to finish it tonight. Then we went to LTM (launch team meeting), and Jonathan read these verses:

1 Thess 1:2-3: “We always thank God for all of you, mentioning you in our prayers. We continually remember before our God and Father your work produced by faith, your labor prompted by love, and your endurance inspired by hope in our Lord Jesus Christ.”

Paul is thanking the Thessalonians for being a community characterized by faith, love, and hope. Their reputation has come before Paul and he is thankful for the good they are doing. I’ve always liked the verse “I thank my God every time I remember you.” (Phil1:3)

That’s what I set out to do in this post. I want to thank some people for being people characterized by faith, love, and hope. Jonathan and Liz, I thank you both for the example you have set before us. Your dream has been a long time coming, and although I am sure there have been moments of doubt, you have remained faithful to the vision God has given you. To the rest of the launch team, I thank you for your faithfulness, for sharing your lives with Frankie and I, and showing us a true community of faith as I believe God designed it to be! You guys are all awesome!

I am so excited about where we are in our journey. I feel that I am truly living right now as God intended me to live. We are in a “sweet spot” right now. I know there are going to be some hard times coming and I just wanted to take a few moments to blog how it feels at this moment so that I can remember. The book I’m reading right now “Plastic Jesus,” talks about living outside of the norm, the comfort zone, the spiritual suburbia that we have made Christianity. Following Jesus is not easy and whoever said it was, wasn’t really following Jesus. It’s a constant struggle to practice the disciplines that are necessary in order to keep your faith real (or at least it is for me). But right now, I feel like I am following, pleading with Jesus to take me with him wherever he goes. I want to be a part of the Jesus Movement that will change my community and I truly think I’m in the right place as I stand beside Jonathan, Liz, Frankie, Michelle, Chris, Josh, MacKenzie, Rachel, Michelle H, Steven, Chrissy, Rosie, Jacob, Jennifer, Hailey, Jessica, Rushi, and all our kids!

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to thankful

  1. Pete Wilson says:

    So glad to hear that your in the “Sweet spot” right now. Thanks for the reminder that we all really have a lot to be thankful for. I will be keeping you and your ministry in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

