From the Inside Out

Today, my husband got a clean bill of health. The doctor said that everything looks fine and the wound appears to be MRSA free. Yeah!

It is funny how things fit together…. let me explain. You know how children will bring you the same book to read for months. They seem to be stuck on it and want to read it over and over again. I do that with songs. Recently, my broken record song has been “From the Inside Out.” I love it and I play it over and over again. Here’s the lyrics:

A thousand times I've failed
Still your mercy remains
And should I stumble again
Still I'm caught in your grace

Everlasting, Your light will shine when all else fades
Never ending, Your glory goes beyond all fame
In my heart, in my soul, Lord I give you control
Consume me from the inside out Lord
Let justice and praise become my embrace
To love You from the inside out

Your will above all else, my purpose remains
The art of losing myself in bringing you praise

Everlasting, Your light will shine when all else fades
Never ending, Your glory goes beyond all fame
In my heart, in my soul, Lord I give you control
Consume me from the inside out Lord
Let justice and praise become my embrace
To love You from the inside out

Chorus 2x
Everlasting, Your light will shine when all else fades
Never ending, Your glory goes beyond all fame
And the cry of my heart is to bring You praise
From the inside out Lord, my soul cries out

I feel like I have been crying out to God recently, asking for his wisdom and grace, asking for some healing, and knowing that he is in control, that he will remain with me. This song has really spoken to me especially in the last few months as Frankie and I are embarking on this journey of church planting. Anyway, when Frankie got MRSA, I cried out to God again, asking for physical healing for Frankie and protection for Alyx and myself. But the whole thing got me to thinking and lately, I’ve been finding a spiritual truth in lots of everyday places. In order to heal MRSA, the doctor had to cut out part of the infection and he told us that MRSA had to heal “from the inside out.” (sound familiar?) I begin to think about when we get “sick” spiritually. Sometimes, God has to cut out part of us in order to heal us. Most always, we have to heal from the inside out. It hurts; in fact, sometimes the pain is unbearable, but God is right there with us through it all. After we heal, we may have a scar. It may occasionally bring back the pain that was present during that time of our lives. But it serves as a reminder of all that God has brought us through in order to be whole and healthy spiritually.

I love that God uses our experiences to help us see biblical truth more clearly. I’m learning that although things might be difficult and painful, in the end, it’s for our good. God is shaping us “from the inside out.”

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

