My First Post! Yah!

This is my first blog. I am hoping to do better than my husband, who keeps saying he is going to keep up with his, but his last post (as I write) is from February! I wanted to start this because my husband and I are starting on a journey. My husband has been “called” by God to plant a church… that’s a lot of church words, but I don’t know how else to say it without making it sound less important. This is a calling for our whole family (Frankie, myself, and our 16 month old daughter, Alyx). We are very excited, but also somewhat scared.

Currently, we are helping with a local church plant in Spartanburg called Hub City Church. It is led by Jonathan Everette. We are doing some really cool stuff. We want to be a church that is relevant to the people out there who don’t like church, if that makes sense. Our vision statement is “to be a relevant church that 20 and 30 somethings want to be a part of.” We are hoping to launch in a movie theater (Spartan 16)… we want to go where the people are, not have them come to us. We want to be involved in our community; we are currently working on a huge project called Movies in the Park (you will learn more about this in the future, I’m sure).

Frankie and I are using this experience to learn everything we can about church planting. We may be here for a while or we may not. That is the scariest part…. not knowing. But I came across this verse in Psalms,

“In the morning, O LORD, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait in expectation.” (5:3)

I know God has something great in store for our lives. So that’s what I am doing: waiting in expectation.

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My First Post! Yah!

  1. Lauren says:

    Hey, Melanie!
    I don’t know if you know what we’ve done the last few years, but during the last two years of seminary, Clint and I served through the Kentucky Baptist Convention and NAMB as church planters in eastern Kentucky. We had two successful church plants out of an attempted four. Many people may tell you that it is a roller-coaster experience, but I think we had many more highs than lows. Keep us posted.

Leave a Reply

